Wanted to share a quick tip to save you a lot of frustration if you are a Chrome extension developer. Never add a new permission to an existing extension that has “warnings” especially if you have a decent amount of users. If you do, your extension will be disabled for all users. They can reenable but you may lose some users that never reenable the extension. Here is a list of permissions that will disable your extension when updating.
This can be avoided by making the new feature optional and adding new permission updates to optional_permissions in your manifest file.
The error message that your users will see if you add a new permission to an existing extension